BRC/adidas Club XC Wrap-Up

The Boulder Running Company/adidas race team once again established themselves as one of the top club running teams in the nation last Saturday in Bend, OR.

With their second place team finish, it could be argued that the BRC/adidas women are the top true club team in the U.S., given that their loss was to the Brooks-Beasts out of Seattle, who are composed of full-time professional runners. Nonetheless, the women proved their mettle over the tricky, true-cross-country-style course, featuring hay bales, steep ascents and decents, and iffy footing. This is the third consecutive year for the BRC women to take home runner-up honors.

The team was lead by a new face, Rochelle Kanuho, from Colorado Springs, who took 12th place among the stacked, nearly 300 woman field. She was followed by another new addition, Brittni Hutton, also out of Springs, in 17th. Following Hutton was Mattie Suver, running on tired legs fresh off of the NYC Marathon, in 24th. Suver was followed by Brie Nelson (30th), Wendy Thomas (34th), Shannon Payne (44th), Rachel Ryan (69th), Ashley Luna (76th), Lori Walker (103rd), Sarah Young (148th), and Lara Johnson (184th).


Boulder’s Laura Thweatt was the individual winner.

The BRC men took a hit with the loss of 3 of the top runners to injury and illness. However, they still rallied to 7th place lead by Ian Burrell’s 12th place berth. Brandon Birdsong took a nasty spill 3k into the race, but still took 21st. Birdsong was followed by Robby Young in 63rd, Greg Reindl (70th), Mike Chavez (81st), Scott Dahlberg (91st), Jay Luna (211th), and Bobby Reyes (295th). The men’s field was composed of 410 men.

For the first time in the team’s history, the BRC/adi men fielded a master’s team. The men came away with 5th place, bolstered by Simon Guitierrez’s 8th place finish. He was followed by Art Siemers in 22nd, CJ Hitz and Mark Misch in 42nd and 43rd, Cody Hill in 57th and Craig Greenslit in 81st.

Lee Troop out of Boulder took the master’s win.

Leave a reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Loading Facebook Comments ...